74 States Stand Up For a Strong #ArmsTreaty

July 20 2012, 1:39 PM  by Oistein Thorsen

Today, at the Arms Trade Treaty Negotiations in New York, Malawi read out the strong statement below stating that “we need this treaty to prevent authorization of transfer of conventional arms where there is a substantial risk that those weapons would be, inter alia:

  • used for, or facilitate, serious violations of international law, including international humanitarian law and human rights law,
  • having a destabilizing effect or exacerbating existing conflicts,
  • diverted to unauthorized end users.

Please read the full statement that was signed by a “diverse group of [74] states that have been consistent supporters of this process”. The statement was met by applause in the room. 

This is the list of States that signed: 

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the CARICOM member states (Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago), Chile, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, the ECOWAS member states (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo), Democratic Republic of the Congo, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Uganda, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Zambia.