Tweet the world’s biggest arms exporters to support the Arms Trade Treaty

June 11 2012, 11:19 AM  by Rosie Cowling

This week (11-16 June) is the global week of action to crank up the noise on ATT. Amnesty International has therefore initiated a tweet-a-thon that we would love for you to get involved in. The idea is to put some twitter-pressure on the world’s biggest weapons-supplying countries ahead of the UN negotiations in New York on July 2.

Help us flood the Twitter accounts of the “Big Six” arms exporters during our Global Tweet-a-thon from today until Saturday targeting USA, UK, France, Germany, Russia and China. Join thousands of ATT supporters and activists around the world and send a unified message to the world’s most powerful governments. Use the hashtag #ArmsTreaty and let us know if you get a response! Below are some suggested tweets and handles.

NB: Amnesty Australia will be targeting USA, Russia and Australia a day later than the timings below. If you’re in Australia or Asia-Pacific, find important information on timings and messages at the end of this blog post.*

Here are sample tweets and the targets for each day, with timings:

June 11 – Target: France @FranceDiplo at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT

 .@francediplo France is 4th largest arms exporter. Support strong #ArmsTreaty to stop weapon flow to abusers http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@francediplo Govts that supply arms for atrocities are responsible too. Time for a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@fhollande Respect your campaign commitments & push for adoption of #ArmsTreaty to stop flow of weapons to abusers http://bit.ly/noweapons

June 12 – Target:
 USA @StateDept at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT

.The US racks up 50% of global arms sales. @BarackObama, take responsibility and support a strong #ArmsTreaty in July http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@StateDept Stop trading weapons with the world’s Mubaraks & King Hamads. Support a strong #ArmsTreaty http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@StateDept Don’t let weapons get in the wrong hands. Put an end to child soldiers. Support strong #ArmsTreaty. http://bit.ly/noweapons 

.@StateDept Stop weapons flow to those who commit atrocities. Support strong #ArmsTreaty  in July http://bit.ly/noweapons

June 13 – Target: Russia @MFA_Russia 
at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT

.@MFA_Russia stop flow of weapons to #humanrights abusers. Support strong #ArmsTreaty this July  http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@MFA_Russia Govts that supply arms for atrocities are responsible too. Support a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty http://bit.ly/noweapons
   

.@MFA_Russia In July we have a chance to create a safer world. Will you step up and support a strong #ArmsTreaty? http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@MFA_Russia The world can’t wait. We need a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty with strong human rights rules http://bit.ly/noweapons

June 14 – Target: UK Foreign Office http://amn.st/Jn0r1k 
at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT

Ask UK Govt to keep up the pressure at the #ArmsTreaty talks & get small arms & ammo in the treaty. Leave a comment: http://amn.st/Jn0r1k

Tell the UK Foreign Office not to compromise on human rights in #ArmsTreaty negotiations – leave a message here: http://amn.st/Jn0r1k

Ask UK Govt to keep up the pressure at the # ArmsTreaty talks & get small arms & ammo in the treaty. Leave a comment: http://amn.st/Jn0r1k

Govts that supply arms for atrocities are responsible too. Time for a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty. Leave a comment: http://amn.st/Jn0r1k

June 15 – Target: Germany @GermanyDiplo 
at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT

.@GermanyDiplo The world can’t wait. We need a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty with strong human rights rules http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@GermanyDiplo Stop flow of weapons to #humanrights abusers. Support strong #ArmsTreaty this July  http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@GermanyDiplo In July we have a chance to create a safer world. Will you step up and support a strong #ArmsTreaty? http://bit.ly/noweapons   

.@GermanyDiplo Germany, 3rd largest arms exporter. Take responsibility and support a strong #ArmsTreaty in July http://bit.ly/noweapons

.@GermanyDiplo Guido #Westerwelle must push for the adoption of #ArmsTreaty that saves lives http://bit.ly/noweapons

June 16 – Target: China using #China hashtag 
at 16:30 UK / 15:30 GMT / 11:30 ET / 08:30 PT 

#China is one of the top 6 arms exporters. We need China to support a strong #ArmsTreaty in July http://bit.ly/noweapons

As a major arms exporter we need to #China to support #ArmsTreaty that saves lives http://bit.ly/noweapons     

Govts that supply arms for atrocities are responsible too. Support bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty this July #China http://bit.ly/noweapons

*Australia and Asia-Pacific 

If you’re in Australia or Asia-Pacific, Amnesty Australia will be targeting USA, Russia and Australia Wed 13 June – Fri 15 June.

June 13 – Target: USA @StateDept at 11:30 Perth / 13:00 Adelaide / 13:30 Sydney, Canberra & Melbourne

June 14 – Target: Russia @MFA_Russia at 11:30 Perth / 13:00 Adelaide / 13:30 Sydney, Canberra & Melbourne

June 15 – Target: Australia Bob Carr @bobjcarr and the Dept of Foreign Affairs and Trade@dfat  at 11:30 Perth / 13:00 Adelaide / 13:30 Sydney, Canberra & Melbourne

.@bobjcarr .@dfat Stay on target and bring us back a bullet-proof #ArmsTreaty. Keep arms out of the hands of #humanrights abusers! Pls RT

_______________________________________________________________________________

Not on Twitter? Not to worry. You can support the cause by signing-up up to demand an ATT instead.